Skip to main content

BLOG

Chasuble

Origin of the chasuble

A chasuble is one of the so-called paraments, vestments used in Catholic worship. It is the priestly outer garment prescribed for the main celebration of a Eucharist. Priests and bishops wear an alb and a stole under their chasuble

Etymology
The word chasuble, comes from the Medieval Latin casubula, a by-word of the Late Latin casula, which denoted a cloak with a hood. Casula is a diminutive form of casa, which means 'house'. A casula and a house provide shelter from the rain.
Learn more
metier1

History of embroidery

History of embroidery
Embroidery as a technique is already very old. Nowadays embroidery is done by many as a hobby. But in the past it was mainly an activity for the good class and for various cultures it was an activity to make your clothes beautiful for Sundays and for festivities. It was also used to decorate your trousseau such as bed and other linen.
 
Learn more
Fairs-Champagne

Textile in Flanders

Flemish cloth has a long history of being admired. When the Romans entered Belgica, the high-quality cloth woven by the locals was soon taken and used for a man’s toga and a woman’s stola. In the early Middle Ages, records exist of Flemish cloth turning up in the markets of Novgorod in Russia.
Learn more
800px-Jan_Antoon_Garemijn_-_The_Pandreitje_in_Bruges_-_WGA08468

A brief history of Bruges

Bruges’ history stretches back to the 9th century when it was founded by Vikings. Indeed, the name Bruges (Brugge) is thought to derive from the old-Scandinavian word 'Brygga' meaning 'harbour' or 'mooring place'. The river Zwin linked the settlement to the North Sea and it very quickly became an important international trading port.

Learn more
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third-party websites of social media if you visit a page that contains embedded content from social media.
 
More information

Skip to main content

Blog

Chasuble

Origine de la chasuble

Une chasuble est un vêtement pour les prêtres de l'Église latine. Une chasuble est l'un des ornements utilisés dans le culte catholique. C'est le vêtement sacerdotal prescrit pour la célébration principale d'une Eucharistie. Les prêtres et les évêques portent une aube et une étole sous leur chasuble.

Étymologie
Le mot chasuble, vient du latin médiéval casubula, un mot du latin tardif casula, qui désignait un manteau avec une capuche. Casula est une forme diminutive de casa, qui signifie «maison». Tout comme une maison, une casula offre un abri.
Voir plus
metier1

Histoire de la broderie

La broderie en tant que technique est déjà très ancienne. De nos jours, la broderie est un passe-temps pour beaucoup. Mais dans le passé, c'était principalement une activité pour la haute classe, et pour diverses cultures, c'était une activité pour rendre ses vêtements beaux pour les dimanches et pour les fêtes. Il servait également à décorer le trousseau comme le linge de lit et autres.
Voir plus
Fairs-Champagne

Histoire du textile en Flandre

Le tissu flamand est depuis longtemps admiré. Lorsque les Romains sont entrés en Belgique, le tissu de haute qualité tissé par les habitants a rapidement été utilisé pour les toges pour homme et les étoles pour femme. Au début du Moyen Âge, des draps flamands apparaissent sur les marchés de Novgorod en Russie.
Voir plus
800px-Jan_Antoon_Garemijn_-_The_Pandreitje_in_Bruges_-_WGA08468

Histoire de Bruges

L’histoire de Bruges remonte au IXème siècle, date à laquelle elle a été fondée par les Vikings. En effet, on pense que le nom de Bruges (Brugge) dérive du vieux mot scandinave «Brygga» qui signifie «port» ou «lieu d'amarrage».
Voir plus
Nous utilisons des cookies pour vous garantir la meilleure expérience sur notre site. Cela inclut les cookies des sites Web tiers de médias sociaux.
Plus d'information